top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

a/perture Review

Over the weekend I wanted to see the movie The Zookeeper's Wife and the only theater that was showing it close to me was the a/perture theater. This theater is known as an art house cinema because is shows movies that do not make it into the main stream theaters. Basically they will not show movies like Iron Man or The Avengers, but will show movies like After the Storm and Frantz.

I was not sure what to expect when I walked into the theater because I have studied art house cinemas in my film classes. I did not realize that it would be such a fun experience. Regardless of if I liked the movie or not, I felt more connected with what I was watching.

The theaters are very small and not a lot of people show up. I went with my friend and we were the only people in our row with four people in front of us, and two in front of them. So a theater having only eight people has never happened to me. I felt more connected like I was at home watching the movie on a very large screen.

While the theater shows specific movies and is very small, I highly recommend going to an art house cinema once in your life. The experience will help you to understand why people make movies not for money but for their love of telling stories through movies.

Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page