top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Not a movie post

So the rare occasion that I won't make a movie post but I still think it's important to address. That would be: graduation...oh yes the graduation season is upon us and scarily I'm a senior. Honestly don't know how I made this far. I think the important thing to address is everyone's concern: what are am I doing after graduation? About half my friends are going to grad school or they're working for their parents company. Well that's cool unless you're like me and don't want to go to grad school and your parents don't own their own business.

If you're like me, you've probably done this on occasion during the job hunting season. Don't fret though! I totally understand where you're coming from and I would like to pass on some knowledge. My school, Appalachian State University, had an event for all Communications major called Spring Forward. Basically they had a whole bunch of employees and alumni talk to us about getting a job. I was skeptical at first because I was thinking "It's kind of ironic that people with jobs are telling me not to stress about not having a job." But I will take that back because all the people I spoke to said they were unemployed for 3 to 6 months after graduation.

I was surprised because I assumed they were the people who had an offer during school but no, they weren't. They also said don't worry if you don't have a dream job figured out yet and more importantly: just stay positive. I need a lesson in positivity sometimes because it is difficult to get into the movie industry. That's where I want to have a career but I'm just trying to take it one day at a time. So fellow seniors, don't worry everything will be okay and just stay positive!

Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page