top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

The internet can be creepy sometimes

Since I often look for new movies to watch and search movies all the time on the internet, I find it creepy when they make suggestions for me. For example, I recently was writing a research paper about dystopian movies and I watched The Postman, Logan's Run, Metropolis, and Fahrenheit 451 where I rented all the movies from Amazon. Now all Amazon is telling me to buy from them are movies that are like one of the above!

Amazon's recommendations

As you can see in the photo above Amazon has recommended I look into these movies because of my pervious watching habits. The thing is sometimes I don't want to watch what they want me to and I feel like they know too much about me.

An article written by MarTech Advisor says that Amazon recently released their AI technology to the public. In an effort to make their products become more profitable they are looking for an outside source to make it better. The reason for Amazon trying to get better is because more often the products they advertise are not well known and do not sell well on their own. It is in Amazon's favor to advertise these products more heavily so that way they will potentially be purchased and they will earn more money.

Next time you see these advertising products, think twice before you actually purchase them because most likely it is just Amazon's way of making you spend more money!

Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page